top of page

2018, so what's new?

Whilst my site has seemingly spent a fair amount of time MIA, a lot has gone as I finished the 2017 season and have been preparing for a step up in 2018.


What happened to the race reports from races at the end of 2017? Truthfully, I lost the routine of write-ups post race and stopped doing them. This isn't to say that nothing happened in the back end of the year, if anything the contrary, with a busy calendar going into autumn. Two of the major results which I didn't write up were a 2nd in the Bath Road Race Junior National Series and a 1st in the Green Mountain stage race over in Vermont.


The Bath Road Race was essentially my local National round, on roads I knew and so I had high expectations. In what was a brutally fast race in which no move could really stick, apart from the eventual winning effort solo by Ed Bishop. I was pleased to come away with 2nd after attacking in the final 3km. I attacked as the pace in the bunch lulled and I got a gap with Louis Rose-Davies and Joe Hill, as we got to the bottom of the finish climb I was able to get the jump on my break away partners and take 2nd across the line. Top 3 in a National round had been one of my goals from the start of the season so it was a relief to tick that off.


To finish off my season I had the opportunity to race the Green Mountain Stage Race in America guesting for Massachusetts based AP Junior Development with fellow Brits Ollie Robinson and Jamie Ridehalgh. The race itself was over four stages consisting of a time trial, flat stage, mountain stage and crit around the Green Mountains in Vermont. My time trial put me in a reasonable position of 12th, but after dropping off from the break on the flat stage I was four minutes down going into the mountain stage. Conditions for stage four were torrid with torrential rain and close to freezing temperatures. I got in the early break which was able to build a lead of three miles going into the final summit of the Appalachian Gap. The break stuck and I rolled across the line fourth on the stage and 24 seconds off GC. With 30 seconds of time bonuses available in the crit, it was going to be close. The crit itself was tight and twisty, with the help of Ollie smashing it on the front I was able to win all but one of the bonus sprints and take the stage. I was levelled on time and after 2 agonising hours it was confirmed that I'd taken GC by 0.3 seconds on count back to the TT. A huge belated thank you to the Morse family for the accommodating and friendly atmosphere throughout the trip and to Peter Kay for the opportunity!


As the season ended I started my build into winter training under the watchful eyes of Grinta Coaching, with whom I've started working with to help smooth my transition into the ranks of Canyon Eisberg and senior racing. With the 2018 season ramping up, I'm coming off 4 intense weeks in Calpe and with the assistance of both ChrisPanTraining and Amersham Sports Massage, I look forward to a prosperous first year as an U23. With that said I still owe some thanks to those who helped me through last season. To both sets of staff and riders at Cycle Team OnForm and Culture Velo U19 for the opportunities to race in your colours. To John Barclay and Dave Story, Peter Kay and the Morse family for the incredible opportunities to race abroad. Lastly, to my parents for their continued support throughout 2017. Onward to 2018 and bigger things!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page