top of page

Fields, gravel and a lot of dust at CiCle Classic

This Sunday was the junior edition of the Rutland CiCle Classic, a race renowned for its off road sections through fields, farms and footpaths. Going into this race OnForm had a full team of five riders and with the Senior Women's race after meant there was a lot of support staff behind us for this.

The race itself was 105km with close to 10km of sections off road. These partnered with narrow roads on rolling terrain, which was rarely flat, meant the stage was set for 120 riders to go handlebar to handlebar in a race of attrition.

The Peloton rolled out of Melton Mowbray and for me my first priority was to get to the front, as once there the narrow roads made it easy to hold my position. The first 10km flew by with no one really wanting to press on.

The race very much continued that way, with the odd lone rider attacking and being brought back, until the first time over the Somerberg. The Somerberg was the main feature of the course and at 2.2km on very broken farm track up and over one of the rolling hills it was sure to cause a shake up in the lead bunch.

Through the first passing I made sure I was first rider into it, this meant I was able to pick my line and have an easier ride through it. As predicted the Somerberg was sure to string out the peloton, but with no one really interested in upping the pace the bunch came back together shortly before approaching Owston for the final 2 of 3 8km of the circuit.

It was on the Owston circuit where the decisive move was made on the final lap. Up the climb to Burrough on the Hill three riders went clear and managed to attain a gap of 30 seconds before they hit the Somerberg for the second time.

It was this second time through the Somerberg where the bunch smashed to pieces as the pressure was piled on by the leading riders. I was sitting well placed and made the original split of around 10 riders.

The pace was kept high as the race summited the final KOM of the day. A few more riders joined our group to amass the total to close to 20 riders and as we entered the 13km finishing circuit the breakaway had been brought back.

A few riders went again almost instantaneously reinstating the gap the original break had. My legs were well into there limit at this point and I knew I would struggle to close the gap, my best option was to try and get the group working.

Much to my frustration riders were either blocking for a rider up the road or attacking through and so we made no progress as we crossed the line with 13km to go.

The same story continued all the way up to final 5km where the dynamic of the race changed into one with a lot more aggression in moves and it became a race of tactics where each rider ended up trying their hand at getting clear.

No moves were able to crack the break.

The two riders up the road eventually held their gap to the line leaving our group to come down to a bunch sprint, poor placement meant I had to sprint through as many riders as I could. Overall I'm happy with the outcome of 7th.

I would've liked to come away with a top 5, however that's racing. Massive thanks to Team OnForm for the support at the race alongside Amersham Sports Massage and TrainSharp for keeping the legs in shape. Now for some time away from racing as I get through exams though I am looking forward to a busy July in Belgium and with the National Series.

FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page